Trade Agreements of Asean

Trade Agreements of ASEAN: Building Strong Economic Ties

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) has grown as a significant economic powerhouse in recent years, thanks largely to its trade agreements with other nations. ASEAN is composed of ten countries, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. These countries are united in their pursuit of economic cooperation and integration, with the aim of boosting economic growth and development in the region.

Trade agreements play a vital role in allowing goods, services and investments to flow freely between ASEAN member states and other countries. In this article, we’ll explore some of the trade agreements that have been established between ASEAN and other nations, as well as their benefits.

ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (AANZFTA)

The AANZFTA is one of ASEAN’s most comprehensive and comprehensive free trade agreements. It was signed in 2008 and has since created a free trade area between Australia, New Zealand and ASEAN member states. The agreement covers trade in goods, services, investments, intellectual property and government procurement. It aims to reduce and eventually eliminate tariffs on goods and services traded between the parties, as well as facilitate greater market access for businesses.

ASEAN-China Free Trade Area (ACFTA)

The ACFTA is a free trade agreement between China and ASEAN member states signed in 2002. The agreement aims to increase trade and investment flows between the two parties by removing tariffs and non-tariff barriers. It covers trade in goods, services and investment. The agreement has brought significant benefits to both parties, with trade between China and ASEAN member states growing rapidly in recent years.

ASEAN-India Free Trade Area (AIFTA)

The AIFTA is a free trade agreement signed between ASEAN member states and India in 2009. The agreement covers trade in goods, services and investment. The aim of the agreement is to reduce tariff and non-tariff barriers between the parties, promote greater economic cooperation and facilitate greater business opportunities. Since its signing, trade between ASEAN member states and India has significantly increased.

Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP)

The RCEP is a free trade agreement between ASEAN member states, China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand. The agreement was signed in November 2020 and aims to create the largest free trade area in the world. The RCEP covers trade in goods, services, investment, intellectual property and e-commerce. The agreement will eliminate tariffs on 92% of goods traded between the parties and is expected to significantly boost economic growth in the region.


In conclusion, ASEAN’s trade agreements have played a pivotal role in creating a strong economic foundation in the region. These agreements have brought significant benefits to member states by reducing trade barriers, facilitating greater market access for businesses and boosting economic growth. The ASEAN region continues to be an attractive destination for businesses looking to invest and expand in the region, thanks to the benefits offered by these trade agreements.